Parents

Parents and Alumni are actively involved in supporting the school programs through their work as classroom volunteers, fund-raisers and participants in advisory groups.

Communication Flow Chart

COMMUNICATION FLOW CHART

If a parent would like to contact the school regarding a concern, the following is the suggested format:


Head of School

If the concern or question is about a global school issue, the division principal may refer you to the head of school.

Teacher → Building Principal/Assistant Principal

If the concern is about grades, student progress, subject related, or classroom specific, the teacher is the first point of contact.

Building Principal/Assistant Principal

If the concern is regarding attendance, discipline, curriculum, or personnel related, the principal or assistant principal is the person to contact.

Coach → Athletic/Fine Arts Director → Building Principal/Assistant Principal

If the concern is about Athletics or Fine Arts activities, the coach should be the first point of contact. (For IB related items, please contact the IB Coordinator)

Counsellor

If the concern is regarding social or emotional concerns, or is of a personal nature, or is regarding course selections, graduation requirements, colleges and universities, transcripts, the counselor is the person to contact. (The counsellor may refer you to the building principal)

Child Protection Officer

If the concern or question is about a child in potential, or current danger, please refer to the SMIS child protection officer.

School Nurse

If the issue is health related, the school nurse is the person to contact.

Main Office

If the concern or question is about transportation, finance, booking facilities, information updates, or other general concerns please contact the main office.

Admissions

If the concern or question is about admissions or referrals, admissions should be contacted.



Contact Information

St. Mary’s International School,

1-6-19 Seta. Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 158-8668,

JapanTel: +81-3-3709-3411 Fax: +81-3-3707-1950

Emergency number: +81-3-3709-3416


Administrative Assistants:


Elementary School (ES): Ms. Kimiko Nicholson Nicholsonk@smis.ac.jp

Middle School (MS): Ms. Miha Suyama Suyamam@smis.ac.jp

High School (HS): Ms. Fumiko Yamaguchi Yamaguchif@smis.ac.jp

Head of School: Ms. Yumi Shimokawa Shimokaway@smis.ac.jp


Head of Schools:


Mr. Saburo Kagei Kageis@smis.ac.jp


Divisional Principals:


ES Principal: Mr. DiMuzio Dimuziom@smis.ac.jp

ES Assistant Principal: Mr. Steve Tierney Tierneys@smis.ac.jp

MS Principal: Mr. James Langholz Langholzj@smis.ac.jp

HS Principal: Mr. Simon Faulkner Faulkners@smis.ac.jp

HS Assistant Principal Mr. Dan Sharp Sharpd@smis.ac.jp


Directors/Coordinators:


Athletics Director: Mr. Tom Molina Molinat@smis.ac.jp

Fine Arts Director: Mr. Randy Stenson Stensonran@smis.ac.jp

IB Coordinator: Mr. Cris Copping Coppingc@smis.ac.jp


Counsellors:


ES Counsellor: Ms. Julie Gordon Gordonj@smis.ac.jp

MS Counsellor: Mr. Kris Thiesen Thiesenk@smis.ac.jp

HS Counsellor (Gr. 9): Ms. Silke Conrad Conrads@smis.ac.jp

HS Counsellor (Gr. 10-12) Ms. Janel Callon Callonj@smis.ac.jp

HS Counsellor (Gr. 10-12) Ms. Marie Kobayashi Kobayashim@smis.ac.jp


School Nurse:


Ms. Zahia Aratani Arataniz@smis.ac.jp


SMIS Child Protection Officer:


Ms. Jennifer McCoy Mccoyj@smis.ac.jp


Admissions:


Ms. Bedos Santos Santosb@smis.ac.jp

Ms. Christine Bagui Baguic@smis.ac.jp

Ms. Masako Purcell Purcellm@smis.ac.jp


School Closings

School closings

In the event of school closing (for example during heavy snowfall or a typhoon), the announcement will be made via this website, the Families Mailing List (below), and on Twitter @SMISTokyo.

Families Mailing List

Families Mailing List


The Families Mailing List is the primary method of communication between school and parents. If you have not already registered your address with the Families Mailing List, please click here to register.

St. Mary’s Association — SMA

St. Mary’s Association — SMA

The SMA is a voluntary organization consisting of parents who volunteer their valuable time to organize fund-raising events which support the students and their activities. The organization is open to all parents to become involved, meet and make friends, plan and execute ways to raise funds to assist the different organizations and activities offered by the school. The three big SMA fund-raising events are: Bingo, International Ball and Boys Carnival.

SMA Newsletter

The Newsletter is a periodic publication of the St. Mary’s Association.

Please find the SMA Newsletters here.


Parent-Faculty Advisory Group — PFA

Parent-Faculty Advisory Group — PFA


The PFA provides parents a unique opportunity to communicate with administrators and faculty in an open and informal atmosphere. The PFA contributes by serving the administration in an advisory role. All parents are welcome to attend the monthly meetings. A range of topics are discussed, such as school campus facilities, curriculum, the community at large, school calendar, etc.

Please read more about the PFA here.

St. Mary’s Alumni Association — SMAA

St. Mary’s Alumni Association — SMAA

The SMAA is open to men who have attended St. Mary’s and who are of the age of eighteen years or older. It organizes several events throughout the year. Not only does it provide a channel of communication among the alumni but it also supports those students who are currently attending St. Mary’s.

Cafeteria Menus

No post to display.

Photos

Calendar