St. Mary’s Association

Current Events

Welcome

The St. Mary’s Association (SMA) is the school’s parent association, and the main purpose of the SMA is to promote community spirit and raise funds for programs that enrich our sons’ education. This is accomplished through volunteer participation. We invite and encourage your participation in the activities organized and coordinated by the SMA board members.

Please contact us at sma@smis.ac.jp for more information. We look forward to hearing from you.

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

What is SMA?

The SMA is an organization consisting of all parents of boys attending St. Mary’s International School. The SMA Board consists of the current Headmaster in an advisory role and volunteer parents of boys in RP through Grade 12.

The SMA Board is responsible for coordinating various fundraising events which enhance and enrich the boys’ educational and extracurricular activities. The main fundraising events include Bingo, International Ball, Carnival and Raffle.

The SMA also coordinates activities, meetings and social functions to create opportunities for St. Mary’s parents to become better acquainted with one another. Our aim is to build a strong community with shared interest in creating a positive and enriching environment for all members of the St. Mary’s family.

All activities of the SMA are carried out on a volunteer basis. Just one or two hours of your time will make a valuable contribution to the efforts of the SMA to make the school a better place for our boys.

Please contact us at sma@smis.ac.jp if you have questions or would like more information on volunteer opportunities. We look forward to hearing from you.

2019-2020 Board Members

Current Board Members

  • Advisor: St. Mary's Headmaster, Saburo Kagei
  • President: Noelle Nishioka
  • Vice President: Iwona Semik
  • Secretary: Kellie Fitzmaurice
  • Treasurer: Yoko Furudera
  • Assistant Treasurer: Heena Niimi
  • Bingo Chairperson: Mineko Inoue
  • Bingo Co-Chairperson: Aya Iwamoto
  • Carnival Chairperson: TBD
  • Carnival Co-Chairperson: TBD
  • Donations Co-Chairperson: Aki Eguchi
  • Donations Co-Chairperson: TBD
  • Hospitality Chairperson: Yukiko Watanabe
  • Hospitality Co-Chairperson: Jinsung Lee
  • International Ball Chairperson: Tomoe Ogino
  • International Ball Co-Chairperson: Ikuko Liliquest
  • Parent Activities Chairperson: Anna Bedynska
  • Parent Activities Co-Chairperson: Junko Negishi
  • Publicity Chairperson: Pritham Tanno
  • Publicity Co-Chairperson: Nicole Hill
  • Raffle Chairperson: Kaoru Shimoyachi
  • Raffle Co-Chairperson: Ayako Ito
  • Recycled Uniform Chairperson: Mamiko Hill
  • Recycled Uniform Co-Chair: Seiko Adachi
  • Room Parents and Liaisons Coordinator: Mitsue Iwata
  • Room Parents and Liaisons Co-Coordinator: Lisa Furudera

If you would like to become a board member, please contact us at sma@smis.ac.jp.

SMA Committee Contacts


Position/CommitteeE-mail
President sma@smis.ac.jp
Parents Activitiessmaactivities@smis.ac.jp
Room Parents and Liaisons Coordinatorsmarplcoordinator@smis.ac.jp

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 1
Mon, Sep 2
Parent Class -- Ikebana
-
Rm. 134
Tue, Sep 3
Wed, Sep 4
SMA Board Meeting
-
Parent Class -- Japanese Language
-
Rm 134
Parent Class -- Bible Study
-
Thu, Sep 5
Parent Class -- English
-
Rm 134
Fri, Sep 6
Sat, Sep 7
Sun, Sep 8
Mon, Sep 9
Parent Class -- Jewelry Making
-
Rm. 134
Tue, Sep 10
Parent Class -- English
-
Rm 134
Wed, Sep 11
Parent Class -- Japanese Language
-
Rm 134
Parent Class -- Bible Study
-
Thu, Sep 12
Parent Class -- English
-
Rm 134
Fri, Sep 13
Schoolwide Mass
-
Parent Class -- Yoga
-
Rm 141
Sat, Sep 14
Sun, Sep 15
Tue, Sep 17
Parent Class -- English
-
Rm 134
Wed, Sep 18
Parent Class -- Japanese Language
-
Rm 134
Parent Class -- Bible Study
-
Thu, Sep 19
Parent Class -- English
-
Rm 134
Fri, Sep 20
Sat, Sep 21
Sun, Sep 22
Tue, Sep 24
Thu, Sep 26
Fri, Sep 27
Sat, Sep 28