Community

Athletics

Students at St. Mary’s are strongly encouraged to participate in our various sports activities. Sports are fun and offer the opportunity to develop skills, make lasting friendships, and learn the values of discipline and sportsmanship. They also promote physical fitness, competitiveness and school pride.

Most major sports such as swimming, baseball and basketball are introduced at the Elementary School level. On weekends, we offer ball hockey, soccer and tennis.

Members of the cross country team

In the Elementary School, students from 4th grade onwards also take part in an annual ski trip to St. Mary’s ski lodge in Gunma prefecture, as part of the regular academic program.

In the Middle School and High School, students begin to take part in inter-scholastic competitions spread across three seasons. St. Mary’s competes with other schools that are members of the Kanto Plain Association of Secondary School Principals (KPASSP). St. Mary’s teams — called the Titans — are competitive, winning many titles in the past several years.

Athletic competitions are not limited to the KPASSP. A few of our sports teams engage in friendly competitions with Japanese and non-KPASSP schools.

Athletics events

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Mon, Jan 11
Tue, Jan 12
Wed, Jan 13
Varsity and JV Debate (online)
-
Thu, Jan 14
Fri, Jan 15
Sat, Jan 16
Sun, Jan 17
Mon, Jan 18
Tue, Jan 19
Wed, Jan 20
Varsity and JV Debate
-
Thu, Jan 21
Fri, Jan 22
Sat, Jan 23
Sun, Jan 24
Mon, Jan 25
Tue, Jan 26
Thu, Jan 28
Fri, Jan 29
Sat, Jan 30
Sun, Jan 31
Mon, Feb 1
Tue, Feb 2
Wed, Feb 3
Thu, Feb 4
Fri, Feb 5
Sat, Feb 6
Elementary students running on the athletic field
Students practicing basketball
Students in wrestling practice